Choose from 9 IIHS Top Safety Pick Winners in the 2017 Toyota Lineup

When you shop for a new Toyota in Early, you have more safe choices than any other brand. Nine Toyota models (and five Lexus models) earned the 2017 Top Safety Pick or Top Safety Pick+ award from the Insurance Institute of Highway Safety, a non-profit funded by insurance agencies with the goal of making cars safer.

Insurance companies have a selfish reason to be invested in vehicle safety: it means fewer payouts. The pleasant side-effect is fewer injuries for drivers and passengers. Thus, IIHS tests are some of the most thorough of any organization, including five "traditional" crash tests, as well as headlight ratings and crash-prevention system ratings.

To earn a 2017 Top Safety Pick, a vehicle must receive a good rating in all crashworthiness tests:

  • Small-overlap front
  • Moderate-overlap front
  • Side crash
  • Roof strength
  • Head restraints and seats

It must also offer advanced or superior-rated crash prevention. To earn a 2017 Top Safety Pick+, a vehicle must meet all of the aforementioned requirements, and offer good or acceptable headlights. Eight Toyota models received the TSP+ designation, while one (the Yaris iA) received the TSP.

Categories: New Inventory, News
Tags: safety